Audio Push – 90951 (Album Stream)

It has been a long time coming but Audio Push‘s debut album 90951 is finally available for download & streaming!

The duo, who recently left their label situation at Interscope, have been in the industry for about seven years now, so this has been a long time coming. The two have released 11 mixtapes and an EP (along with appearing on two HS87 compilations heavily) leading up to this release.

Primarily produced by Hit-Boy, the album also features him rapping along with Musiq Soulchild, Eric Choice, BJ The Chicago Kid, & Kent Jamz across the 12 tracks.

Stream or download 90951 below, and view an excerpt of an interview with Complex below.

DOWNLOAD: Audio Push – 90951

[hr gap=”2″]

You guys were signed to Interscope, now you guys are releasing 90951 independently. What did you learn from that process of being signed to a label?
Oktane: The good side of it is there’s an actual budget; it’s basically like a bank. Other than that the upside to being independent is now when we want to release music I don’t have to get a phone call back like, “No, we have to wait for this date.” I can go, “You ready? I’m ready. Let’s go.”

Price: They can get your stuff on the Super Bowl or touch certain things you can’t touch, certain radio plays or things that are extremely difficult to make happen; a label can do it with a button press. But a lot of why we were making music that wasn’t true to us I believe was us trying to cater to the label, and the label is trying to cater to hits, cater to trends. They’re trying to sell music; they are not trying to innovate. That’s what I love about being independent, ‘cause we’ve got full control on innovating.

On the album you have “Black Man,” which is you guys delivering socially conscious raps. What you guys were trying to accomplish with that record?
Price: Michael Jackson gave you “Thriller,” “Remember the Time,” and “Black or White.” Marvin Gaye gave you “What’s Going On” and “Sexual Healing.” So don’t look at Audio Push and think you’re finna just get bars or just get conscious spiritual music.

Oktane: Just respect the art.

Price: Just press play and only expect prestige.

Oktane: We treat audio art like visual art. You don’t go to Basquiat expecting any type of picture, you’re just going to enjoy what Basquiat did. Just come and enjoy it, and if you don’t enjoy it, skip it. But you are gonna find something you do love on this album.

Price: With “Black Man,” the purpose of it is us wanting to speak on that topic hands-on. On top of bringing awareness to everyone, more so bringing the awareness to other black men. Like wake up black man; wake up. We all gotta do it collectively. We can sit here and speak on the problems, but after we do all that, after all that is done, what are we going to do as a collective to make a change? Not a protesting change, not all that shit that we’ve been doing for years that hasn’t done anything. What realistically are we going to come together to do to put our minds, money, and movements to make happen? Because without those three nothing is going to change. Keep your protests, keep all that shit, keep your shirts, keep your Black Lives Matter crap. Without movement, money, and minds there’s not going to be anything. So that’s what “Black Man” is about.

1. Ghetto Fabolous Filtered Water
2. Leftside
3. Control Us
4. Spread Love
5. Heaven Yea
6. Praise You (feat. Musiq Soulchild)
7. Slow Motion (feat. BJ The Chicago Kid)
8. Play Action (feat. Hit-Boy)
9. Throw It Back II
10. Black Man (feat. Kent Jamz)
11. Hypocrite
12. Hyperbolic Vibe Chamber

Explore Other Finds